Salkantay and Inca Trail: The 7-Day Combination Trek
Sold and operated by Salkantay Trekking. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.
The Salkantay and Inca Trail combination is the longest way to reach Machu Picchu on foot in this guide. Salkantay Trekking sells it as a 7-day, 6-night trek that walks the Salkantay route past Humantay Lake and Salkantay Pass, then joins the Classic Inca Trail to arrive at the Sun Gate. The price is $1,555 per person, the group is capped at 12, and the trek carries a 5.0 rating from 50 reviews. Camping covers all 6 nights, including one at Sky Camp in Soraypampa. This page sets out what the price covers, how the days run and who should book a shorter trek instead. See all luxury Inca Trail tours side by side.
About This Tour
Salkantay Trekking links two of the best-known walks in the Cusco region into one 7-day trek. The first days follow the Salkantay route to Humantay Lake and the Salkantay Pass, with the first night at Sky Camp in Soraypampa. The later days join the Classic Inca Trail through Ayapata, Chaquicocha and Wiñay Wayna to the Sun Gate, then down into Machu Picchu itself.
The support package covers an expert chef, porters and horsemen travel with the group, each hiker gets a personal duffel for up to 5 kg, and the team carries walkie-talkies, oxygen and emergency satellite phones. The return is by tourist train from Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo. All sales are final, and the listing advises booking at least five months ahead because Inca Trail permits are limited.
$1,555 per person, listed on Viator.
7 days and 6 nights, all 6 nights camping, including 1 night at Sky Camp in Soraypampa. There are no hotel nights.
Shared group of up to 12, not private. A private alternative is the Private 5-Day Inca Trail.
Camping every night. Camps named on the listing are Sky Camp in Soraypampa, Pampajaponesa, Paucarcancha, Ayapata, Chaquicocha and Wiñay Wayna.
Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo tourist train, which the description calls the panoramic train.
Optional horseback rides from Soraypampa to Humantay Lake and to Salkantay Pass, travel insurance, gratuities and personal hiking clothing are outside the price. Read the cancellation term before paying: all sales are final.
Check Dates and Availability
Permit numbers decide the calendar, so starting times appear when you check a date. The listing advises booking at least five months ahead.
From $1,555 per person · 7 days, 6 nights · 5.0★ (50 reviews)
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer Quick facts on the 7-day combo
This Salkantay and Inca Trail trek costs $1,555 per person and runs 7 days and 6 nights, all of them camping, in a group of up to 12. Salkantay Trekking includes the Inca Trail permits, the Machu Picchu entrance for Circuits 1C and 3B, all trail meals and the tourist train back to Ollantaytambo.
Key takeaways
- Book at least five months ahead and know that all sales are final. Read the Inca Trail permits guide before you pick dates.
- The listing is confusing about sleeping bags and trekking poles. The inclusions list them, the exclusions list them as gear, so confirm with the operator before you pack. See what the price covers.
- The Inca Trail section closes every February, so this trek cannot run then. The best time to hike the Inca Trail guide explains the seasons.
- Only want the classic 4 days? Compare this with the 4-Day Inca Trail with Vistadome Train at $835 or the route-by-route breakdown in Inca Trail vs Salkantay.
What the Price Actually Covers
The figures below come from this operator's own listing on Viator, at $1,555 per person for 7 days and 6 nights.
What Is in the $1,555
The listing includes the Inca Trail permits and tickets, entry fees to the Salkantay Trek and Humantay Lake, and the Machu Picchu entrance for Circuit 1C and Circuit 3B. Meals are breakfast, lunch and dinner with water, tea time and daily snacks on the trail, and vegetarian or vegan options on request. All private transport and transfers are covered, along with hotel pickup and drop-off in Cusco.
The camping package covers 5 nights at named camps plus 1 night at Sky Camp in Soraypampa, private camping facilities and equipment, a personal duffel bag for up to 5 kg, transport of personal belongings, and a small towel and soap. An expert chef, porters and horsemen support the group, and the safety kit includes a first aid kit, walkie-talkies, oxygen and emergency satellite phones. A pre-departure briefing is included, held at the main office in Cusco at 5:00 PM the night before and lasting about 30 to 45 minutes.
What Is Not in the Price
The exclusions name the optional horseback rides from Soraypampa to Humantay Lake on day 1 and from Soraypampa to Salkantay Pass on day 2, clothing and personal hiking equipment, travel insurance, which the listing recommends, and gratuities for the staff, which are optional. Single supplements are not stated. The Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo tourist train is included, and the listing names no upgrade.
The bus from Aguas Calientes up to Machu Picchu is not named in the inclusions, so ask the operator before counting on it. Tips are extra, and budgeting for them is worth doing before you book.
The Sleeping Bag and Pole Conflict
The basic hiking equipment line lists a sleeping bag, trekking poles, rain poncho and backpack cover. The exclusions list a sleeping bag and trekking poles under gear. The two lines disagree, so ask the operator in writing before you pack.
If you do need to rent, other listings show the kind of cost involved: AB Expeditions charges $20 each for a sleeping bag or walking sticks. That figure belongs to a different trek and is only here to size the risk.
Line by Line
The table sums up the money position from this listing alone. Extras on the day are the optional horse rides and tips, and everything else sits inside the $1,555.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Salkantay entry fees | Yes | Humantay Lake and Salkantay Trek entry fees included |
| Inca Trail permit | Yes | Permits and tickets for the Inca Trail included |
| Machu Picchu ticket | Yes | Circuit 1C and Circuit 3B included |
| Optional mountain add-ons | No | Huayna Picchu, Machu Picchu Mountain and Huchuy Picchu tickets are bookable options at extra cost |
| Train to Ollantaytambo | Yes | Aguas Calientes tourist train, described as panoramic |
| Camping gear | Conflicting | Sleeping bag and poles appear in both inclusions and exclusions, confirm with the operator |
| Sleeping arrangements | Camping only | 6 nights camping, no hotel night in Aguas Calientes |
| Meals | Yes | All trail meals, water, tea time and snacks, diets on request |
| Tips and insurance | No | Gratuities optional, travel insurance recommended and excluded |
| Horse rides | No | Optional rides to Humantay Lake and Salkantay Pass from Soraypampa |
| Cancellation | Non-refundable | All sales are final, no refund for cancellations |
Sources: UNESCO, Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, Wikipedia, Inca Trail to Machu Picchu
Humantay Lake near Soraypampa, on the Salkantay route. Photo: Steve FUNG, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
How the Trek Runs, Day by Day
The listing names the camps and the route but does not publish a full day-by-day itinerary, so the account below uses only what the listing and published route facts state.
Before Day 1
The trek begins with a briefing at the operator's main office in Cusco at 5:00 PM the night before, lasting about 30 to 45 minutes. Pickup is from your hotel in Cusco on day 1, and the time is not stated on the listing. Cusco sits well above 3,000 metres, and the listing recommends arriving at least 2 days early to adjust.
Salkantay Days
Day 1 ends at Sky Camp in Soraypampa, below Salkantay, a mountain of more than 6,200 m. Humantay Lake and the Salkantay Pass come in these early days. The Salkantay Pass sits at roughly 4,600 to 4,660 m depending on the source, which is higher than anything on the Inca Trail.
Optional horseback rides cover the Humantay Lake and Salkantay Pass climbs from Soraypampa if you want to save your legs.
Camps to Wiñay Wayna
The named camps after Sky Camp are Pampajaponesa, Paucarcancha, Ayapata, Chaquicocha and Wiñay Wayna, which puts the group on the Classic Inca Trail for the second half of the trek. Camps such as Ayapata sit before Dead Woman's Pass, at roughly 4,200 to 4,215 metres the highest point of the classic route, and Chaquicocha and Wiñay Wayna come after it. Each night the chef and camp team handle meals, and the horsemen move the group gear.
The listing does not state daily distances or walking hours, so those are not given here.
Sun Gate, Machu Picchu and the Way Back
The final trail day walks into Machu Picchu through the Sun Gate, about 2 km from the citadel entrance and sitting at about 2,720 to 2,745 metres depending on the source. The included entrance covers Circuit 1C and Circuit 3B. After the visit the return runs on the tourist train, called panoramic in the description, from Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo, a journey that PeruRail trains cover in about 1 hour 30 minutes.
Hotel drop-off in Cusco is included as part of the transfers.
Humantay Lake and Salkantay Pass Trek
The Salkantay side: Humantay Lake and the high pass. Third-party video by Jumping Places. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
Who This Tour Rules Out
Seven days of camping at altitude with a strict no-refund policy rules out more travellers than it suits. The honest exclusions are below, each with an alternative.
Anyone Who Needs a Refund
All sales are final. No refund is available for cancellations, and the Inca Trail permit is personal and non-transferable, issued to one passport. Fix it by being certain of your dates and your passport details before paying, and by buying travel insurance, which the listing recommends but does not include.
If flexibility matters more, the Premium 4-Day Inca Trail Trek offers free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Anyone Put Off by the Fitness Demand
The listing calls this a challenging trek requiring a high level of physical fitness. You carry days of altitude: the Salkantay Pass sits at roughly 4,600 to 4,660 m and Dead Woman's Pass at roughly 4,200 to 4,215 m, and the operator says the climb to the pass takes 4 to 5 hours. It is not recommended for pregnant travellers, travellers with spinal injuries or those with poor cardiovascular health.
Read the Dead Woman's Pass guide, and if 7 days is too much, the 4-Day Inca Trail with Vistadome Train covers the classic route alone.
Travellers Outside the Age Band
The listing takes bookings for travellers aged 12 to 70, and children aged 12 and over must be accompanied by a responsible adult at all times. It does not say that younger children can join. Families with children under 12 should look at the short Inca Trail instead, and the Short Inca Trail with 4-Star Hotel is a 2-day version with a hotel night.
Private-trek Seekers and February Travellers
This is a shared group of up to 12, not a private departure, so you cannot set your own pace or dates. The Inca Trail section of the route closes every February for maintenance and reopens on 1 March, so the trek cannot run then. For a private classic trek, see the Private 4-Day Inca Trail.
For what the permits allow month by month, see Inca Trail permits.
The view from Dead Woman's Pass. Photo: Shriram Rajagopalan, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Before and After the Trek
What you do around the trek matters as much as the trek itself. These points come from the operator's own advice and the practical guides on this site.
Acclimatise in Cusco First
Cusco sits well above 3,000 metres and the listing recommends arriving at least 2 days before the trek to adjust. Those nights are yours to book, since the trek itself has no hotel nights. The Inca Trail to Machu Picchu guide covers how the altitude shapes each day.
Permit and Passport Timing
Permits are issued to one person on one passport and are non-transferable, and the listing requires your passport name, number, expiry and country at the time of booking for every participant. Make sure your passport is valid and ready for your travel day. The listing advises booking at least five months ahead, and in high season the demand is highest.
The Inca Trail permits guide explains the 500-per-day cap and how permits are released.
What the Machu Picchu Circuits Show
The included entrance covers Circuit 1C and Circuit 3B. Circuit 1C is the Sun Gate route, and this trek arrives at the citadel through the Sun Gate itself before touring on its circuits. Optional add-ons sell Huchuy Picchu, Huayna Picchu or Machu Picchu Mountain tickets, so pick the option when booking if you want a mountain climb on top of the circuits.
The Sun Gate Machu Picchu guide has the detail on the 1C route.
A Night in Aguas Calientes and the Luggage Limit
This listing camps all 6 nights and includes no hotel in Aguas Calientes, so if you want a bed after the trail, add nights there yourself at the end or pick a trek with a hotel night such as the Private 5-Day Inca Trail. For the train home, PeruRail allows one backpack up to 8 kg or one carry-on up to 12 kg on Machu Picchu routes, and excess baggage costs $15 for excess carry-on and $25 for checked baggage. Pack to the limit and leave the rest in Cusco.
Day by Day at a Glance
The listing names the camps but does not publish daily start times, so the steps below use camp names and phases rather than invented clock times.
-
Evening before
Briefing in Cusco
A pre-departure briefing at the main office in Cusco at 5:00 PM, lasting about 30 to 45 minutes. The team covers the route, the duffel and the kit.
-
Day 1
Pickup and the walk to Sky Camp
Hotel pickup in Cusco, private transport toward the Salkantay side of the route, and the first walk ending at Sky Camp in Soraypampa. The optional horseback ride to Humantay Lake is listed for day 1. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are covered from here on.
-
Day 2
Salkantay Pass from Soraypampa
The listing places the Salkantay Pass climb on day 2, at roughly 4,600 to 4,660 m the highest walking of the trek. An optional horseback ride from Soraypampa covers the pass climb.
-
Following days
Pampajaponesa and Paucarcancha
Camping moves through Pampajaponesa and Paucarcancha as the route turns toward the Classic Inca Trail. The chef and horsemen move the camp ahead of the group each day.
-
Mid trek
Onto the Classic Inca Trail at Ayapata
The trek joins the Classic Inca Trail, camping at Ayapata before Dead Woman's Pass and later at Chaquicocha. The pass sits at roughly 4,200 to 4,215 m, the highest point of the classic route.
-
Late trek
Wiñay Wayna camp
The final camp is Wiñay Wayna, close to the Sun Gate. Tea time and dinner at camp, then an early night before the last push.
-
Final day
Sun Gate, Machu Picchu and the train
Walk to the Sun Gate, about 2 km from the Machu Picchu entrance, then enter the citadel on the included Circuit 1C and Circuit 3B tickets. After the visit, the panoramic tourist train runs from Aguas Calientes to Ollantaytambo, then transfer back to your hotel in Cusco.
What Works and What Does Not
An honest read of this listing against the others in the guide.
What we genuinely like
- +Two routes in one trek, 7 days and 6 nights, with the Salkantay Pass at roughly 4,600 to 4,660 m and the Sun Gate finish on the Classic Inca Trail
- +Strong support package: expert chef, porters and horsemen, a 5 kg personal duffel, walkie-talkies, oxygen and emergency satellite phones
- +Permits, Salkantay entry fees, Humantay Lake fees and the Machu Picchu Circuit 1C and 3B tickets are all inside the $1,555
- +All trail meals with water, tea time and snacks, and vegetarian or vegan options on request
- +Small shared group of up to 12, with a 5.0 rating from 50 verified reviews
- +First night at Sky Camp in Soraypampa, named in the listing
The honest downsides
- −All sales are final, and the personal, non-transferable permit gives you no way back if your dates change
- −Six camping nights and no hotel night anywhere, including Aguas Calientes
- −Optional horse rides, tips, travel insurance and personal hiking clothing are all extra
- −The sleeping bag and trekking pole inclusions contradict the exclusions, so you must confirm before packing
- −The listing does not publish daily distances or walking times, which makes training planning harder
- −February is impossible, since the Inca Trail section closes for the month
- −A shared group of up to 12 means no private pace or custom dates
Who it's NOT for: Anyone who needs refundable booking terms, a private departure, a hotel bed instead of six nights camping, or a child under 12 should book a different trek.
Questions About This Trek
How much does the Salkantay and Inca Trail 7-day trek cost?
The price is $1,555 per person for 7 days and 6 nights, all meals on the trail included, and it is sold on Viator. Permits, entry fees and the return train are inside the price. See what the price covers for the full breakdown.
How hard is the Salkantay and Inca Trail combination?
The listing calls it a challenging trek needing a high level of fitness, with the Salkantay Pass at roughly 4,600 to 4,660 m and Dead Woman's Pass at roughly 4,200 to 4,215 m. The Dead Woman's Pass guide covers the climb in detail.
Can I cancel if my plans change?
No. All sales are final and no refund is available for cancellations, partly because the Inca Trail permit is personal and non-transferable. The Premium 4-Day Inca Trail Trek offers free cancellation up to 24 hours before if flexibility matters.
Does this trek run in February?
No. The Inca Trail section closes every February for maintenance and reopens on 1 March, so this combination cannot run that month. The best time to hike the Inca Trail guide covers the seasons.
How far ahead should I book?
The listing advises booking at least five months ahead, and permits are capped at 500 people per day, of which about 200 are trekkers. The Inca Trail permits guide explains how permits are released.
Is there a hotel night in Aguas Calientes?
No, all 6 nights are camping and the listing includes no hotel. If you want a bed before the train home, the Private 5-Day Inca Trail includes a night at a hotel in Aguas Calientes.
How does this compare with walking only the classic Inca Trail?
This trek adds the Salkantay days, with 6 camping nights against 3 on the classic 4-day listings, and costs $1,555 against $798 for the cheapest 4-day listing. The Inca Trail vs Salkantay guide compares the two routes directly.
If six nights under the stars and two routes in one trek sound right, check dates for this $1,555 departure before the permits go.
Booked on Viator with the operator's own terms, including all-sales-final cancellation, shown before you pay.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure